Walden Kitchen?

April 25, 2007 at 5:22 pm

Simplicity is the antithesis of extravagance. But often it is its master as well. Amid my explorations of Colorado farm raised lamb, Jerk spice from Jamaica, and other culinary adventures I sometimes lose sight of the fact that simple everyday dishes done right are among the best meals on earth.

Recently I was gifted with yard eggs. Yard eggs in Alabama are what the rest of the world calls free range or organic eggs. I got mine from a neighbor who keeps hens. I hardboiled eight of them in water (duh), chilled them in an ice bath, and peeled them. Next I placed them in a boil, added a few dollops of Hellmann’s Canola Mayonnaise (it is healthy while at the same time it is real mayonnaise), mixed in a little mustard and had egg salad. I added no capers or fresh herbs. There was no “subtle hint” of anything and the “finish” was egg salad.

It is amazing how good old standards like egg salad can be when you use top notch ingredients. Not that I am turning my back on veal shoulder glazed in a Merlot reduction with honey and rosemary. Why would I? I guess it is more like taking a break from System of a Down to listen to Led Zepplin.

I think Thoreau was on to something when he wrote, “Simplify, simplify, simplify!”

Entry filed under: Food and Cooking.

Hello world! New Podcast


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

