My First Grand Opening

May 24, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Last night I went to my first grand opening party since becoming the food and drink columnist for Current Publications.  The new place is called the Wine Loft and it is a wine bar.  They tell me that they will have over 300 bottles on their list soon which is way impressive.  I was treated to many introductions once my identity was revealed (by me) and my champagne flute was never empty for long.  I tried some extremely nice cheeses – an herb crusted goat cheese and a creamy Bleu were my favorites.  I also gave some sage advice to one of their beautiful servers who had never waited tables before – my advice?  Serving is flirting so smile, make eye contact, and occasionally put your hand on the customer’s shoulder.  She then smiled at me, looked me deep in the eyes, placed her hand on my shoulder and asked how she was doing.  I would have told her she was doing well but my knees were shaking and all I could do was blush.  The PR rep for the bar forced her card into my pocket and the owner was very friendly and accommodating.

It was a lot of fun and the sparkling wine that I drank most of the evening was from the Gruet Winery in New Mexico.  That’s right New Mexico, and it is owned by a French family that has been operating a vineyard in Champagne, France for a very long time.  It was one of the better sparkling wines I have had and is on par with Champagne and Prosecco.

 I can sure get used to this.

Entry filed under: Booze.

New Articles Memorial Day


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

