It’s Cooking, Not Life or Death

June 27, 2007 at 12:33 pm

That was the thought pattern just before the 15 pound retractable extension cord rigging came crashing down from 30 feet up just grazing the back of my jacket and missing my noodle by about a foot. As everyone stood around in stunned silence I noticed that the rigging had jarred the serving table and tipped over one of the lit Sterno canisters spilling some of the fuel onto the paper tablecloth about an inch below the flame.

The impending disaster was apparently lost of everyone as they murmured about how lucky we were that the rigging had not struck anyone. Without concern for my own safety I lunged heroically towards the king size Molotov Cocktail managing to right the toppled Sterno can and then removed the entire chaffing dish from the table thus saving the entire city of Mobile from a Sodomesque demise.

That night I dreamt that I had learned to fly and promptly challenged Superman to a race, which of course I won.

Entry filed under: Food and Cooking.

Sam’s Club? Interview with a Chef


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

