Big Daddy’s House – No Surprises

August 5, 2008 at 7:15 pm 8 comments

What can I say about the premiere episode of Big Daddy’s House starring NFNS winner Aaron McCargo Jr?  There was nothing special about it.  The same problems that plagued Aaron during the contest are still there – he is hard to understand, seems fake when he tries to force energy, and he still is not friendly with the camera.  His kid was cute, though.

The menu was nothing special.  He coated chicken tenders with crushed tortilla chips.  That’s the first time I’ve ever seen anyone do that . . . again.  Seriously, any idea that has ever graced the pages of one of the those $1.00 cooking mags at the check out of your local grocer has no place on the Food Network.  Plus, TFN already has one show that derives its menu from those, Semi-Homemade.

At one point, he spent about 15 seconds with his back turned to the camera while he fished through a utensil drawer talking to the back-splash.  Not all of it was Aaron’s fault.  The editing seemed choppy.  Maybe they did the best they could with the takes they were able to get, I don’t know. It felt like a rookie show, with a rookie host, and a rookie production team.  Aaron took a pot of steaming broccoli off the stove and when he removed the lid he let out a whoop like he had just popped the top on a boiling vat of Cajun crawfish.  Steamed broccoli is tasty, but there is little about the steam to get one excited.  This was a classic case of Aaron trying to force personality and it just came across as strange.

I will venture to say that Aaron actually gets more than six episodes.  FN will try to spin the show as “well received” and allege that it “earned” a second season.  This is only window dressing because there has been so much made of the shady nature of this year’s contest and the fact that they have only found one true star in four tries.  And who knows, it may get better.  Giada was a little hard to watch at first, too, but now she is a star.

The bottom line: I’ll watch it if nothing else is on, but it will not earn a slot in the old DVR.

UPDATE: Despite poor reviews and worse ratings Big Daddy’s Kitchen has been renewed for 13 more episodes.  Read HERE.

Entry filed under: Food and Cooking. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Ruby Tuesday Stunt Blows Up ADAM GERTLER WILL WORK FOR FOOD!

8 Comments

  • 1. Paladin  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:14 am

    You are very kind. I will never watch that program. Aaron didn’t deserve to win, the whole thing is shameful.

  • 2. D. B.  |  August 10, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I agree that his energy seems forced. On todays show he acted so excited over a New York Strip that he kissed the raw meat. Very over the top and unnecessary.

  • 3. wannabetvchef  |  August 10, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I, too, watched episode #2 today and found Aaron unwatchable. He either mumbles or shouts so I find myself listening carefully and being rewarded with a speaker-splitting whoop or woo. Big Daddy’s House is quickly going from curiosity to one of the worst shows I have seen. I could swear he used capers in his au poivre instead of pepper. I’m already tired of hearing about his love for smoked paprika (or as Aaron calls it pap-uh-rika). I love the stuff, too, but dang. This episode was like a 23 minute version of that very uncomfortable monologue he did in the final Vegas challenge. On the bright side, that asparagus salad looked fantastic.

  • 4. Cheryl  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    I agree, I don’t think this show will last. I think they picked the wrong winner .

  • 5. bingo  |  August 31, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    i think i will play a drinking game during this show……one will have to take a drink every time he says “big daddy”…..i will be trashed by the end of his show

  • 6. Steve  |  September 3, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    I refuse to watch for a couple of reasons. One, I have no desire to see anyone dump a bunch of spices on a piece of meat and proclaim it ground breaking culinary talent. Two, the whole NFNS was a sham. Halfway through the season my wife and I both called it spot on. They desperately wanted Aaron to win. So much so that when he flopped in Vegas they broke the rules and brought him back for the finale where all he did was whoop and holler like some beer infused NASCAR fan. I’m no cullinary genious but I am smart enough to know you cant prepare chicken parm in 20 minutes without even having the ingredients there ready to go. He should have been gone from that episode.

  • 7. Lucky 13 for Big Daddy? « Wannabe TV Chef - Blog  |  September 24, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    […] Foods, Whole Foods Market, Whole Foods Market Inc., Will Work for Food trackback As predicted here earlier, the Food Network has decided to go ahead and order 13 more episodes of Big Daddy’s […]

  • 8. Angela Peters  |  January 25, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    I think the problem with all of you is that Aaron is a man that knows how to cook and he cooks real food, not expermential food. I like his show. I made some of his recipes for my husband friends and they were a hit. The only reason we still see Guy is not his cooking show. It’s the other drive in and restaurants he visits. I think Aaron is better than Gida, preparing food that know one else will or Sandra lee with her alcohol addiction. Need I go on because I can. Big Daddy you can cook at my house anytime. Steve you said that he cant prepare chicken parm in 20 minutes, but you believe Rachel Ray can prepare a full course meal in 30. STOP HATING PEOPLE.


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

