Mars Hill Update

August 6, 2008 at 6:08 pm 1 comment

Things have been going well at Mars Hill Cafe.  Apparently, my food is a hit.  Sales are up based solely on word of mouth.  We haven’t started advertising yet.  Tomorrow we roll out the new menu, my menu.  Sure not everything is my own creation but I have tried to put my own stamp on things.  Gone is the 1000 Island on the Rueben – I forget which fern bar started that back in the 80’s but a pox on your house (sorry Bennigan’s, if it was you – your house has been sufficiently poxed).  The French Dip is a standard French Dip, but the horseradish sauce has a little “me” in it.  My new Tuscan wrap is really great and the rest of the staff predict it will be the biggest seller: pesto mayo (which we make ourselves), spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, feta, and grilled chicken in a whole wheat tortilla.  We have a Memphis Quesadilla – smoked turkey, pepper jack cheese, and our signature BBQ sauce.  Everyone seems to like my potato salad and my garbanzo bean salad which is spiced with Moroccan flavors.  If you guys are nice, I may post the recipe for the garbanzo bean salad.  The Tuscan wrap was inspired by my Mediterranean Pasta from Everyday Gourmet:

On the horizon we have a few things scheduled in the media.  Our local NBC affiliate is sending a reporter out to do a story on us for their series “What’s Right with Mobile.”  We are also trying to get on the local CBS affiliate once a month to do a cooking demo during their noon news show.  Now, who wants to nominate us for Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives?  I think Guy will love the revamped sweet potato hash browns.

Entry filed under: Job news. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Attack of the Killer Potatoes Tailgating

1 Comment

  • 1. LeBlanc  |  August 7, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Man now I am starving! I will definitely be doing my best to make a trip down to Mobile to sample the cuisine! Congrats!!


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

