New Cheflebrity Alex Guarnaschelli

August 28, 2008 at 6:35 am 19 comments

With her new show just weeks from airing here’s a chance to get to know The Cooking Loft’s Alex Guarnaschelli in this interview from The Next Blog:

Posted Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 11:39PM

Sautéed Florida Shrimp with Arugula Leaves, Crispy Duck Confit, Tomato-Capor Raviolini… All of those dishes sound absolutely divine; they also sound like nothing we could cook up here at ThisNext.  Good thing there are chefs out there that can cook up such delicious dishes without setting the kitchen ablaze.

ThisNext chats with Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli from New York’s Butter Restaurant to find out what’s cooking in her kitchen.

Read the interview.

Entry filed under: Food News. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Another Tailgate Recipe The Orion Cooker – this is new.

19 Comments

  • 1. Karen Sessions  |  October 18, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Dear Alex Guarnaschelli,
    Just for starters, I am a South Carolina farmers daughter. To that I add things to my food to give that flavor as you. But to that I am a diabetic, heart problems, meaning have to look out what I eat. I watched your show on 10/28. The enjoyment of watching your show gave me the want to go into the kitchen and cook what you showed. I love your attitude, and having people on your show with you enjoying it with you. Please keep up the good cooking. I am asking you to fit in for people as me into your cooking to keep it healthy.
    In my life of buying food, I grow my own and try to eat organic as much as possible. The joy of the process to getting all the great things to eat and put up for the winter is great to me. At least I know what is in it . So with this all in mind, Please continue all the great work and be yourself. Thank you for the great flavorful food.
    God has given you a gift to be where you are and I pray God continues to do His great work in your life.To the food network, you need to keep her on your tv show and you are very blessed to have her as a part of it.
    God Bless from Loris, South Carolina
    Karen Sessions

    Live15 miles from Myrtle Beach

  • 2. Angel Elf  |  March 11, 2009 at 1:31 am

    This woman is as dull as dishwater. Maybe that’s why her Cooking Loft Show is no longer on Food Network. She is a total bitch on that Top Chef rip-off Chopped hosted by monotone Ted Allen.

  • 3. B Bauer  |  March 12, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Alex Guarnaschelli
    Glad to see that you are going to have a new show. will keep looking for it to air. Have been watching you on chopped. Love the show. Iam a ex chef. Work at a local restraunt here in Minnesota from the young age of sixteen. Left that life abuot fifteen years ago and miss it.
    What I would like to comment on is the new winner in the last chopped that was aired here on 3/10 in our area.
    I was upset to see the winner James Biscione runing his hand though his hair and then going back to handling the food that he was peparing.
    Thank you for your time
    Brad Bauer

  • 4. tahoe chef  |  April 1, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Alex is a total b$@#h downer on Chopped. The condescension she displays poisons the whole show, and it is amazing that the otherwise upbeat Ted Allen is reduced to a zombie.

  • 5. Rodney  |  April 22, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Just a quick question for you Alex. By the way I think your great on chopped. Anyway, aren’t you a food tech on the show “food detectives” also? My wife says no just someone resembling you. thanks and keep on chopping those arrogant chefs.. LOL..

  • 6. Kate  |  April 22, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Alex, my husband and I fell in love with you the first time that “Cooking Loft” premiered on FoodNetwork. We enjoy watching you on “Chopped” and “Iron Chef America” as a judge. We hope to see you on more shows on FoodNetwork. Keep up the great work and enjoy married life as well as your little one!! God Bless!!

  • 7. Avinash  |  May 9, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Dear Alex,
    I have been enjoying your presence on many shows on Food Network.I think your great on Iron Chef America and was quite pleasant in The Cooking Loft.However since Ive been seeing you on Chopped I notice that as the weeks go by you are gradually becoming more and more of a…how should I say this…a bitch.It is very distastefull and I personally think the show itself is a rip off as the individuals who have actually had the guts to do something new or who were consistantly better than the rest are quite often the ones chopped.I believe the show stifles creativity and focuses more on how big of a bitch the judges are than actual culinary skill.As a matter of fact I can even often predict the winner now..its always the ones who gets no compliments throughout the show..which is quite hypocritical dont you think?If anything..Chopped needs to be chopped from Food Network.And you can take your newly acquired bitchy attitude with it

  • 8. kay  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Yea, Alex is a total woman bitch! She is always the first to complain and scream about what she doesn’t like, then to top it off she makes contestants worry whether they’ll be chopped soon by saying hurtful commentary! Is she not getting enough dick at home??? I mean why is she so rude, upperty and hateful all the time? She needs to spend more time in her home kitchen than the one on tv and maybe her attidude would get in order. What’s even funnier is that when she does say sumthing tastes bad, the next chef always adds a compliment to supersede her statements as if she doesn’t even know what she’s talking about!

  • 9. dj  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I’m as disappointed as you are. When I first saw the Loft she was a wonderful host, very friendly and engaging, and I thought it was cute that her guests were all circled around the counter. What a drastic change. I sincerely hope it’s just FN forcing her to be this way. Otherwise, perhaps Ms. G needs a reminder of her humble beginnings, getting soundly whooped by Cat Cora on Iron Chef….

  • 10. Sandy  |  July 25, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I can’t stand that woman! She is soooo arrogant and rude. Acts like she is the end all, be all of food expertise. Food Network needs to can her, Rachael Ray and that drunk Sandra Lee. And ENOUGH of the stupid cake shows!

  • 11. Pam  |  September 16, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I just watched a new episode of “Chopped”, and Alex – I deleted it half way through because I find you to be so rude, arrogant, and hateful. Did the producers tell you to act that way, because if so, they are doing you no favors. Since I started watching “Chopped”, any time I see you on anything I run the other way because I find you to be so abrasive. I could never take you seriously as a chef, because I cannot respect you as a person.

  • 12. Robert  |  October 19, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I can not for the life of me understand why this woman is on TV. She is so full of herself, completely rude and adds nothing to any show she is on. We just turn off Chopped when she is a judge. Alex, note to self. Put down the doughnuts and stop being a complete bitch!

  • 13. burpo  |  October 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I usually keep comments to myself unless they’re encouraging, but this woman is just plain mean. Make that plain AND mean.

  • 14. Emily  |  January 7, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    I just made the mistake of watching a show called Chopped!! If the person (C%@&) named Alex is an everyday judge, this show is doomed. I have never in my life used that word before, but that’s why its out there! For HER! She needs knoched down about all her knotches!

  • 15. Karen  |  February 28, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    My husband and I are both cooks and we watch all the food shows- Chopped is one. It’s bizarre to us how many of these supposed chefs do not know who to cook meat-just simple cooking techniques to get it done in 30″ you would expect them to know and most of them don’t know how to make interesting salads- we are shocked out how bad some of them are. Alex is usually the judge we think could be less bitchy- my husband hates her! He say she might as well be a bitch because she has a sour dour look on her face even before she speaks! But when she is nice, she can be very nice. I think maybe she’s just trying to be the Simon Cowell of the Food Network

  • 16. Kat  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:42 am

    Unfortunately my family is losing interest in the show Chopped, which use to be one of our favorites. The judges are just entirely too rude and obnoxious – even more so than some of the contestants. Alex tops the list with her superior attidtude. I really want to like her because she is one of the few women on the show who is a professionally trained chef. Alex, please lighten up. No one expects you to be meek when judging a contest with a $10,000.00 prize, however, that just doesn’t buy you the right to devour the contestants.

  • 17. crabby  |  July 15, 2010 at 2:43 am

    I think Alex is great. She is very engaging and witty MOST of the time.That is what drew me to be interested in her when she is a judge on Iron Chef America..she would just launch into an almost Robin Williams like hilarious descriptive mode.Charming cute and obviously a very talented chef who loves to eat good food. However I have observed her being very unkind while judging Chopped.It is one thing to honestly critique the competing chefs on that show but NOT necessary to emasculate and demean people.Many of the judges on that show act out. I will never forget the stupid young male biker looking judge who bitched about, ” my chive was slightly bruised” OMG I was MORTIFIED for him:) As for Alex I am sure those nit wit programmers were trying to make things edgy and ordered her to act mean like that. I really like her on her other appearances on Food Network. I as a viewer love watching the personalities on Food Network who are fun competent and charming. I do not tune in to watch people being verbally insulted and being treated with contempt. Another rude female judge is that Keri woman on CHALLENGE. She is like a cake decorating judge.CRUEL vindictive cold witch.WTF? Get rid of her and bring in some humane judges.

  • 18. J.Williams  |  March 23, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I love the show Chopped, I think all the competitors are amazing for making what they have in the time and without knowing the ingredients ahead of time. But I absolutely HATE Alex Guarnaschelli! She is such the stuck up b*#ch! She always comes across as arrogant, generally unpleasant to all the competitors, and always seems to be looking down on other chefs. I mean seriously, I doubt she’s that great herself. I don’t see her competing on Chopped herself in the All Stars episodes and there are better chefs than her competing. I wish they would take her off the show.

    • 19. wannabetvchef  |  March 23, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      With Chopped All-Stars bringing in some of the best ratings in the history of Food Network I doubt they tamper with the line up. That would be idiotic. Check out my exclusive interview with Alex Guarnaschelli HERE. She dishes on Chopped All-Stars.


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

