Review: Hurricane Brewing

March 11, 2009 at 7:20 am

Originally posted on the Azalea City Food Blog on March 7, 2009.

In the past few months I have twice found myself dining (and drinking) at Hurricane Brewing Beer and Bistro. My first visit was with a date and my latest was with a friend. Both times I have left fulfilled.

Firstly, micro-brewed beer is very good. From Blvd. Wheat in Lincoln, NE to a frosty pint from the Gerst Haus in Nashville to the super delicious Southern Pecan Nut Brown Ale crafted at Mississippi’s Lazy Magnolia Brewery I’m a sucker for a good mirco-brew. Hurricane’s is an excellent destination for my craft brew cravings. Acorrding to their web site, “Featured beers are Projected Path Amber; Floating Car Blonde Ale; Storm Surge Stout; and Insurance Adjuster Pale Ale,” but I am more found of the Storm Surge Stout and the Tropical Wheat Advisory.

And the food? Pretty good, too. So far I have tried the French Dip, fried shrimp, an oyster po-boy but the most notable dish so far was the Pub Mac & Cheese ($6.95). There is a reason why this dish keeps winning awards, it is a truly soulful casserole of cheese and noodle. Add sausage for another $2, it’s worth it.

The vibe at Hurricane’s is hip and relaxed with tattooed bar keeps and quirky servers galore. Plus it’s right in the middle of all the action. See for yourself.

Hurricane Brewing Beer and Bistro
225 Dauphin Street
Mobile, AL 36602
(251) 445-2544

Entry filed under: From My Other Blogs. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Iron Chef and her wife both have buns in their ovens. “My” The Chopping Block Review


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

