Fish Dish: Chili-Lime Halibut

October 28, 2009 at 9:22 am

I was excited to find that my local market has started stocking Full Circle all natural, wild caught, US fish in its freezer section.  I live on the Gulf Coast and can get fresh Gulf seafood but these are not indigenous fishcicles.  So I have decided to share this culinary voyage with you.  I won’t be providing recipes per se but instructions on how I fixed each Fish Dish.

Chili-Lime Halibut

The Finished Product

Fish Dish: chili-lime halibut with chipotle brown rice pilaf.

I seasoned the halibut steaks with salt, pepper and chili powder.  I seared them in an oiled medium high sauté pan for about four minutes on each side, basting with fresh squeezed lime juice after the turn.  Once done I removed them to a plate.

For the pilaf I added half a can of chipotle white corn (with some juice) to the sauté pan along with a can of green chilies making sure to scrape up the fond in the bottom of the pan.  I then added 4 ounces of pre-cooked brown rice and tossed it in the pan until heated through and well mixed.  I squeezed a little more lime juice over both the pilaf and the halibut before serving.

Entry filed under: Fish Dish, Food and Cooking. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Fish Dish: Grilled Salmon with Soy-Honey Glaze As if Katrina Wasn’t Bad Enough Now the FDA is Targeting the Gulf Coast


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

