Review: The Everything Cookies & Brownies Cookbook

November 10, 2009 at 6:41 am

Since a child I have been in love with the Snickerdoodle. Yeah, I know it is just a sugar cookie with cinnamon added but I love them. I would gladly give up chocolate chip and even oatmeal raisin for Snickerdoodles. Part of it is flavor but mostly it is nostalgic. They were my mother’s specialty. Everybody’s moms made chocolate chip, peanut butter and the like but only my mother made Snickerdoodles.

So naturally when I got my review copy of The Everything Cookies & Brownies Cookbook by Marye Audet (Adams Media, 2009) I turned directly to the recipe for Maple Snickerdoodles. I quickly thumbed my way to page 84. Wow! Maple syrup and maple sugar? These weren’t the Snickerdoodles my mom made, but what she intended.

Audet’s book has more than just this one recipe, in fact it has 300 recipes for any occasion. Baklava? It’s in there. Chocolate-Peanut Butter Whoopie Bars? Of course. S’Mores Brownies? Yep those too. The next time that pushy eight year old starts pushing her troop cookies on you under the threat that they’re only available once a year just turn to the Chocolate Thin Mints recipe on page 111 and show her who’s boss.

There is plenty of teaching in the book as well. A chapter on cookie baking basics gives tips and shortcuts. It also defines the different leaveners and the resulting styles of cookie derived from them. There are chapters devoted to the exotic, kid-friendly recipes and recipes for special needs cookies (gluten-free for celiacs, sugar substitutes for diabetics, egg/dairy free, etc.). If you are looking for a good “introduction to cookies” cookbook then The Everything Cookies & Brownies Cookbook is that book.

Entry filed under: Food in Print. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Fish Dish: Alaskan Hash Diary of a Wannabe TV Chef Pt. 12


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Twitterized

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!

