Fish Dish: Floribbean Mahi Mahi

November 2, 2009 at 6:18 am

I was excited to find that my local market has started stocking Full Circle all natural, wild caught, US fish in its freezer section.  I live on the Gulf Coast and can get fresh Gulf seafood but these are not indigenous fishcicles.  So I have decided to share this culinary voyage with you.  I won’t be providing recipes per se but instructions on how I fixed each Fish Dish.

Fish Dish: Floribbean Mahi Mahi with Pineapple Salsa and Puerto Rican-style Rice

Mahi Mahi

The Finished Product

Wikipedia says “The essence of what makes a particular dish Floribbean is similar to many other aspects of Floridian culture: that it is heavily influenced by visitors and immigrants from all over the world, but especially from the Caribbean (with notable influence from The Bahamas, Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and Haiti), Australia, and the American Deep South.”

I seasoned my filet on both sides with salt, pepper and Jerk spices and seared it in a skillet over medium heat with a little canola oil.  It cooked about 4 minutes on each side before a I removed it to a plate to rest.  In the remaining oil I sauteed corn, green chilies, black beans and finely diced papaya for about a minute before adding some pre-cooked brown rice.  I tossed the rice until heated through.

To top the filet I made a pineapple salsa by combining pineapple chuncks, a little papaya, onions, garlic, salt, jalapeno and cilantro and refrigerated it an hour to chill and let the flavors blend.  A few organic tortilla chips add some cruncy texture to the dish.

Entry filed under: Food and Cooking. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Fish Dish: Blackened Swordfish Fish Dish: Coconut Curry Ahi Over Udon


RSS NEW WannabeTVchef.com Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Stuart Reb Donald

Stuart is a celebrity chef and award winning food writer. Donald performs live cooking demonstrations and penned the cookbook Amigeauxs - Mexican/Creole Fusion Cuisine. He hosts two Internet cooking shows "Everyday Gourmet" and "Little Grill Big Flavor."

Archives

Watch me on ifood.tv!